top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMikAnimate

PROP MAKING- Flowers

I had two strict goals for myself when making my flowers 1. They had to light up under blacklight and 2. They had to be malleable enough to be animated.

Rocks

I made use of some dried up builder’s silicone by cutting it into sharp rock like shapes. When a light is put underneath these rocks they illuminate quite nicely.

Leaves

I got some skeleton leaves and painted them with fluro paint and nail polish. I discovered that the darker colour looks better in the middle and the lighter colour better around the edges of the petal/leaf. I also discovered that by painting the glow in the dark rocks in fluro blue it dulls the colour and makes it look more natural. It also means that I can save some of the brighter rocks to put beneath Leo’s feet when he walks down the path.

Fibre Optics

I wanted to put a spherical cage around the fibre optic fairy lights to resemble a sea urchin look. However, the fibre optics were too stuck together and didn’t seperate well enough to go through the mesh as evenly as I had anticipated. So I ditched the cage and am just going to make the fibre optics pop up through a hole in the ground. I was also going to make it some leaves.



Flower Bush

These flower bushes were rather tricky to make. Firstly I cut blue dryer balls in half, then I cut the bottom two layers of spikes off. Next I dipped the spikes into blue fluro paint. I then used a dremel to drill holes into the ball spikes so that the fishing wire could go through. The fluro paint came off during this process so I will have to repaint the spikes later. I then glued the petals onto the fishing wire.


Nail Polish Flowers

These were fun to make. I firstly bent floral wire into the shape of leaves and petals. I then tied these wires onto the uv torch which made an excellent drying stand. I then used fluro/glow in the dark nail polish to coat the edges of the wire, then make a bubble of nail polish over the wire hole. Next I waited for it to dry then I twisted all the wires into a design that I was happy with.





29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Instagram
  • Vimeo
  • Facebook
bottom of page