top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMikAnimate

Set Building- Part 1

Updated: Oct 12, 2020

Tunnel

Earlier this year, around May, I started to build my first prop, a woven tunnel made from vine branches. I had never woven branches before and didn’t do any research on the topic as I wanted it to look rough and naturalistic. Like the vines had grown around each other. I also made one end opening larger than the other as I wanted a bit of a forced perspective. The itself wasn’t easy to begin with as I had to carefully form my shapes and ties the hoops with string so that they don’t bounce back. Once I started building up a few layers it became easier to weave as the structure became more solid.


A special thanks to Jenn for giving Me some extra vines to finish the job.


The Set Frames

Sadly due to the university lockdown at the moment (due to COVID-19) I couldn’t work with the amazing Veronica Jaramillo (Vca production student) and had to start working on the sets myself. A family friend, Tom Steiniger, kindly offered to make my set frames for me. He did an amazing job and I was able to start working on my sets. I started off painting my forest set black as this colour will contrast well with the fluro black light lit plants. To make the forest landscape I made the structure of the hills out of mesh. I then covered it with a few layers of mod rock.

Next I added a layer of paper clay to really strengthen the foundation. I used this recipe: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1YQ6eUqcEh8


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Instagram
  • Vimeo
  • Facebook
bottom of page