top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMikAnimate

PROP MAKING- Plastic Flowers and Book Spines

Plastic Flowers

I started making these as a filler plant (something to just fill the space) but they turned out quite nice. I cut some flower and leaf shapes from plastic that I’ve been saving since Easter then melted them over a candle to make the shape warped. Next I used the nosel of the hot glue gun to melt a hole into every flower so that the fibre optics could poke through.



Book Spines

I knew that I was going to have to make a lot of these to fill the space in my large bookshelf props so I needed to develop a simple model and painting technique. I used cardboard, string and tape to make the iconic vintage shape of the book spine. I then applied Mod Podge to smooth over the tape and provide a nice painting surface. Next I applied different shades of brown, blue, green and yellow paint to the spines and wiped back the paint (when wet!) to achieve a worn look (Credit to mum for this technique).


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Instagram
  • Vimeo
  • Facebook
bottom of page